Like I Before (Poetry Month #25)

sober and undrugged rehearse the words in my head
to my wife in the kitchen “I’ll have a cup a coffee,
Please, love,” but instead hear myself say
“Ittlebut wattleap…” recognise nonsense so apologise with a “Spiotonapom”
I see my right hand side as a grey blur,

my left hand side is clear and sharp,
my headaches. I can’t communicate.

I wobble as my brain sloshes one
side of my skull to the other until I sit.

“Another panic attack?” asks my wife.

via Daily Prompt: Gray

Leave a Reply

