Out Of The Cereal Box

out of the burger box
with fries all about me,

I came upon the collector
who set me up imaginary
battles to fight, who

imagined my words,
the people I would meet,
by whom I would be defeated,
until the next day when

the previous day was forgotten,
and my words and actions
were reimagined. I fought
new foes and even old foes

who had new names or old
names and new powers.
I was renewed each day,
until I was boxed and placed
in the dark, until I was sold,

exhibited or consigned
to this rubbish heap
under the putrid soil.
The heat is so great
my bones have melted together.

Leave a Reply

