a fist in the ear

what she needs
 she pushed me to it
 harder than any squaddies

 and her children
 her little bastards
 that’s what they need

 I’ve told her
 a fist in the ear
 and they don’t
 lack discipline anymore

 they’ve got to tell me
 she’s got to tell me
 where she goes
 what she does
 who she meets

 I’ll not worry then
 will I?

 what she needs
 if she’s off with some other
 I’ll bring a shotgun to her

 *******

 Recently rediscovered poem to add to The Place For Breath chapbook. This poem is  Linda’s ex husband’s perspective.

via WordPress for Phone http://goo.gl/j6Fzhf

Leave a Reply

