The Deposition of Christofer Husteler

Christofer Husteler, aged 60,
household servant
to Henry Wombwell said:

At London
When my master Henry
dispatched his designs,
Sir Richard Tempest
advised him to go home

I durst not
said my master
Why?
I am feared
to be poisoned
By whom?
Amongst them.

Sir Richard said
Go to your friends
come not among them
or else come me,
and I shall give
you board.

That’s all I know
as when my master died
I was with my wife
at Bylburgh of the hill,
beside Tadcaster.

I never sent no message
to Elisabeth
to come
to her master,
I did see Elisabeth there
one time,
but we
never spoke
and never knew
my master
never
loved her
nor
favoured her.

Leave a Reply

