T’ Testimony O’ Elisabeth Gre-an

I, Elisabeth Gre-an
servant
a mistress Kateren,
master Henry’s wife
dwelled wi master Henry
quarter of a year
afore his death

I were at Mexburgh
with mistress Kateren
when Husteler
comes to me and says
Henry would av me
come a him.

I tell mistress Kateren
of it, who bade
me go to him,
an so I does.

When I get thir
I tells master Henry
for worship
he needs to come
home a Easter,
an so he does.

At that time
I says no more to him,
but tell him how
Shepherd tre-ated
Kateren evilly,
Henry were angry at him.

Sir William Gascoignes servant
as laid rotten
bread in t’ house
at Shrovetide afore.

Master Henry’s complains
himself sick at Mass
or at Easter day,
whichever
and I sits at table end
with him
an mistress at supper
of Easter day last past
an he desires me

a fetch him
a drink,
and so I does;
Ralph Metcalf
were not within,
at time.

My master has no more
drink a supper
and one of Henry’s
children an Ralph Metcalf
drink of same cup
an I never knew not
Master were sick
afore Monday,
but neighbours say
he were sick in tarn
at afternoon,
I never asks him
for forgiveness an
he offers t’ kiss me
lots o’ times
when he lies sick,
an I sit on his bed
an I asked how he is
an he says well
an Thomas Upton
said he will do well
if I lay down,
at his back,

I were not content.

via WordPress for Phone http://goo.gl/j6Fzhf

Leave a Reply

